Nature Preserves Advisory Council

All Columbus nature preserves are managed by CRPD and advised by the Nature Preserve Advisory Council (NPAC). The NPAC, previously known as the Hoover Nature Preserve Advisory Council, was formally created by City Resolution with the designation of Hoover Nature Preserve, in 1988. In 2004, it was formally renamed by Resolution. The council is composed of nine (9) members. Within the Columbus Nature Preserves, the purposes and objectives of the NPAC are to:

  1. Advise and make recommendations to the Executive Director of CRPD concerning the management and wise use of the natural resources.
  2. Advocate for the conservation, protection, enhancement, and wise use of the natural resources.
  3. Foster the development and application of science-based resource policies and practices and to promote through education and example, and ethic that recognizes the interdependence of people and the environment.
  • Robert Thorn, Chair
  • Laura Fay, Vice Chair
  • Jenny Finfera
  • Joe Meara
  • Chris Roshon
  • Darlene Sillick
  • Sue Wintering