About US

On July 15, 1910 the City Recreation Department was established to enrich Columbus by finding ways to make streets, alleys, boulevards, parks and public grounds more beautiful. On Jan. 2, 1972 the City Recreation Department merged with the Division of Forestry and Parks to become the Columbus Recreation and Parks Department. We have grown from six to nearly 400 parks on 13,500+ acres, have established 29 community centers, five athletic complexes, six golf courses, 230 miles of regional trails, six splash pads and interactive fountains, eight outdoor pools and an indoor aquatic center, 19 nature preserves, three reservoirs, five dog parks, a skate park and a range of programs for toddlers to seniors.