Nature Preserves History and Timeline

1988 – Designation of Hoover Meadows, Hoover Nature Preserve, Hoover Oxbow and Mud Hen Marsh nature preserves.

1989 – Creation of Waterway Task Force for consideration of additional parkland areas.

2004 – Designation of Griggs, Hayden Falls, Kiwanis Riverway Park, O’Shaughnessy and Woodward nature preserves. Formal adoption of the Nature Preserve Advisory Council.

2016 – Designation of Beechwold Park, Gertrude S. Lawrence Woods, Hickory Woods Parkland, Hoover Prairie, Kenney Park, Lazelle Woods, Mock Park, Rush Run, Sawmill and Webster Park nature preserves.

2022 – Adoption of nature preserve code by Columbus City Council.